Skip to main content

10th grade Term Paper: Online Reference Sources

Resources

We recommend beginning your search with the first four databases in this list - they contain the full-text content to lots of reference works. If you are accessing these databases from home, use the remote access passwords link below.

  1. Salem History Online - A great starting point for overview articles about your topic.
  2. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online - An oldie but goodie for background research.
  3. Credo Reference - Collection of over 700 reference sets online.
  4. Gale Virtual Reference - Use this for a general search of more than 75 reference sets online.
  5. Ebsco Discovery Service - One-stop searching for books, journals and content from a variety of online sources. Make use of all the filters!
  6. Oxford Research Encyclopedias Online - Access to subject specialized Oxford encyclopedias. This is better for later in the research process.
  7. Oxford Scholarship - Use this source for a broad search of Oxford reference books that we have online. Be sure to use filters for full text!
  8. Oxford Art Online (Grove Dictionary of Art)
  9. Encyclopedia of Russian History
  10. Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
  11. Encyclopedia of European Social History
  12. Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
  13. Science and its Times
  14. Project Muse

Please use the remote access passwords link below to search a database from off campus.

  1. Dictionary of National Biography - Use this if your person has anything to do with the British Isles.
  2. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online - Biography Browse - For best results, choose the approximate era of your person.
  3. Credo Reference 
  4. Salem History Online - Great Lives and Great Events - Lots of biographies here.
  5. Gale Virtual Reference
  6. Oxford Reference Online 

Please use the remote access passwords link below to search a database from off campus.

  1. JSTOR - A terrific resource for academic journal articles.
  2. Project Muse - Good source for academic journals.
  3. Salem History Online - Great Lives and Great Events
  4. Credo Reference 
  5. Ebsco Discovery Service - One-stop searching for books, journals and content from a variety of online sources. Make use of all the filters!
  6. Humanities E-Book Project - More than 2800 university press titles available online. 
  7. Gale Virtual Reference
  8. Oxford Reference Online

Please use the remote access passwords link below to search a database from off campus.

  1. Humanities E-Book Project - More than 2800 university press titles available online through this link. You may find some linked from the library's online catalog.
  2. Jstor
  3. Credo Reference 
  4. Gale Virtual Reference
  5. Oxford Reference Online 
  6. Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Use Gale Password)
  7. Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Use Gale Password)
  8. Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (Use Gale Password)
  9. Encyclopedia Judaica (Use Gale Password)
  10. Encyclopedia of Religion (Use Gale Password)
  11. New Catholic Encyclopedia (Use Gale Password)

Please use the remote access passwords link below to search a database from off campus.

  1. Salem History Online - Great Lives and Great Events
  2. Credo Reference 
  3. Humanities E-Book Project - More than 2800 university press titles available online through this link. You may find some linked from the library's online catalog.
  4. Jstor
  5. Gale Virtual Reference
  6. Oxford Reference Online 
Loading ...

Using databases from off campus

You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.

Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.

Noodle Tools