Skip to main content

9th grade Term Paper: Print Reference Sources

Noodle Tools

Why use books?

It is tempting to go straight to Google and search for all of your resources online, but that would be a mistake.  In fact, it would also be a mistake to find all of your resources using the many databases we subscribe to at JBS. Why? Well, the most important reason is one of quality control. When you are looking for factual resources, a book can be a good place to go because it has been edited, reviewed and fact-checked before being published by a reputable publisher.  For you, the student, this saves you the effort of deciding if a book source is of good quality - you only have to decide if it is useful for your paper.

Another reason is that web pages, and sometimes even database resources, can give you material in a non-linear format where you click through from one page to another, and can easily miss the connecting narrative and framework for your topic. Books can give you a better overview of a topic than periodical articles, and can also provide more indepth information than many periodical articles.

Print books v. Ebooks

Do you have to use only books you can find in the stacks at our library? No! We have a number of databases that offer full digital text of actual books, or what librarians call "print equivalent". These are the same books that you would find on the shelf except that they are in a digital format and can be more easily searched.

Search the Library's Collections

 

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series

 

Resources

Here is a list of suggested general print resources, which all can be found in the Reference section. Ask a librarian if you are having trouble finding a book!

  1. REF 322.103 ENCYC Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
  2. REF 325.303 COLON Colonialism : an international social, cultural, and encyclopedia
  3. REF 330.03 OXFOR The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  4. REF 382.03 ENCYC Encyclopedia of world trade : from ancient times to the present
  5. REF 509.303 LAWSO Science in the Ancient World
  6. REF 614.4003 ENCYC Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics and Plagues
  7. REF 614.403 ENCYC Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence, from ancient times to the present
  8. REF 903 ENCYC Encyclopedia of World History
  9. REF 909 ROBER Ancient History: From the First Civilizations to the Renaissance
  10. REF 909 WORLD World History Encyclopedia
  11. REF 909.7 DICTI Dictionary of the Middle Ages
  12. REF 909.07 CRUSA Crusades                                                              
  13. REF 909.07 CRUSA The Crusades, an Encyclopedia
  14. REF 909.07 CRUSA Crusades, the Illustrated History
  15. REF 909.07022 MCKIT Atlas of the Medieval World
  16. REF 909.0703 TRADE Trade, Travel and Exploration in the Middle Ages
  17. REF 909.09767 MEDIE Medieval Islamic Civilization: an Encyclopedia
  18. REF 910.03176 CAMBR The Cambridge history of Islam
  19. REF 930 CAMBR The Cambridge Ancient History
  20. REF 940.02 CHRON Chronology Of European History, 15,000 B.C. To 1997
  21. REF 940.2303 ENCYC Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
  22. REF 941.00321 OXFOR The Oxford Companion To British History
  23. REF 950 ENCYC Encyclopedia of Asian History
  24. REF 951.03 CAMBR The Cambridge History of China
  25. REF 954.003 ENCYC Encyclopedia of India
  26. REF 956.003 ENCYC The Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
  27. REF 956.015 AGOST Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire
  28. REF 960.03 ENCYC The Encyclopedia of African History
  29. REF 960.03 ENCYC Encyclopedia Africana

Here are a few print resources for topics that are biographical in nature. These are located in the Reference section. Ask a librarian if you are having trouble finding a book!

  1. REF 109 WORLD World Philosophers and their works
  2. REF 305.409 SALIS Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
  3. REF 305.409 LAWLE Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
  4. REF 305.409 WOMEN Women in the Middle Ages, an Encyclopedia
  5. REF 305.4092237 LIGHT A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women
  6. REF 920 MAXWE Chronicle of the Popes
  7. REF 920.72 JACKS Women who Ruled
  8. REF 920.72 NOTAB Notable Women in World Government
  9. REF 920.72 NORTO The Norton Book of Women's Lives
  10. REF 920.72 EXTRA Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World, a Biographical Dictionary
  11. REF 937 SCARR Chronicle of the Roman Emperors
  12. REF 940.099 JACKS Women Rulers Throughout the Ages
  13. REF 947 WARNE Chronicle of the Russian Tsars 
  14. REF 951.009 PALUD Chronicle of the Chinese Emperors

The print resources below can be helpful for topics centering on women. They can be found in the Reference area or regular nonfiction shelves. Ask a librarian if you are having trouble finding a book!

  1. REF 305.409 SALIS Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
  2. REF 305.409 LAWLE Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
  3. REF 305.409 WOMEN Women in the Middle Ages, an Encyclopedia               
  4. REF 305.4092237 LIGHT A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women
  5. 305.4094 ANDER A History of their own: women in Europe from prehistory to the present
  6. 305.4094 HISTO A History of Women in the West
  7. 305.4094 HUFTO The Prospect Before Her: A History of Women in Western Europe
  8. REF 305.4203 OXFOR The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
  9. REF 920.72 JACKS Women Who Ruled 
  10. REF 920.72 NOTAB Notable Women In World Government
  11. REF 920.72 NORTO The Norton Book Of Women's Lives
  12. REF 920.7203 EXTRA Extraordinary women of the Medieval and Renaissance world : a biographical dictionary
  13. 940 GROSS Women in Medieval and Renaissance Europe 
  14. REF 940.099 JACKS Women Rulers Throughout The Ages; An Illustrated Guide

If your topic has a religious aspect, the materials below may be helpful. These print materials can be found in the Reference area or regular nonfiction shelves. Ask a librarian if you are having trouble finding a book!

  1. 270 SCHAF History of the Christian Church
  2. REF 291.1 ENCYC The Encyclopedia of Religion and War
  3. REF 297.63 MUHAM Muhammad in History, Thought, and Culture 
  4. REF 322.103 ENCYC Encylopedia of Politics and Religion 
  5. REF 909.0703 NOLAN The Age of the wars of Religion, 1000-1650: an Encyclopedia of Global Warfare and Civilization 

If your topic includes a battle, war or any aspect of the military, take a look at the books below. They can be found in the Reference area or regular nonfiction shelves. Ask a librarian if you are having trouble finding a book!

  1. REF 341.37 PHILL Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances 
  2. REF 355.002 GLOBA Global Chronology of conflict: from the ancient world to the modern Middle East
  3. REF 355.003 ENCYC Encyclopedia of Wars
  4. REF 355.009 DUPUY The Harper Encyclopedia of Military History: from 3500 B.C. to the present
  5. REF 355.009 GABRI Empires at war : a chronological encyclopedia 
  6. REF 355.403 JAQUE Dictionary of battles and sieges : a guide to 8,500 battles from antiquity through the twenty-first century
  7. REF 355.4403 DAVIS Besieged : an encyclopedia of great sieges from ancient times to the present 
  8. REF 625.409 WEAPO Weapons and Warfare
  9. REF 904.5 DAVIS 100 Decisive Battles; From Ancient Times to the Present 
  10. REF 904.7 HOGG Battles; a concise dictionary

Loading ...

Types of resources