Skip to main content

9th grade Term Paper: Primary Sources

Resources

Here are some good resources to try when you are looking for your primary source.  This is one of the areas where websites will be a great resource, so we include a list of some of the better document collections available online, as well as databases that include primary sources.

Websites
  1. Avalon Project - Major Document Collections: Large online document collection. Browse by collection or use search window
  2. Ancient History Sourcebook - Collection of primary source documents, organized by time period and geographical region
  3. Classics by Author | Christian Classics Ethereal Library: Digital versions of standard Christian texts and scholarship
  4. Documents Related to the History of International Relations, prior to 1914: Collection of documents about battles and treaties from ancient times through the 20th century
  5. Hanover Historical Texts Project
  6. Greek and Roman Materials: Collection of Greek and Roman texts from the Perseus Project
  7. Internet African History Sourcebook: Collection of African history primary and secondary sources from ancient times to the present day
  8. Internet East Asian History Sourcebook: Primary sources about China, Japan, Korea and Vietnam
  9. Internet History of Science Sourcebook: Collection of primary and secondary sources about science from ancient times to the present day
  10. Internet Indian History Sourcebook: Collection of Indian primary sources
  11. Internet Islamic History Sourcebook: Collection of primary and secondary sources about Islamic history
  12. Internet Jewish History Sourcebook: Collection of primary and secondary sources about Jewish history and religion
  13. Internet Sacred Text Archive Home
  14. Internet Women"s History Sourcebook: Collection of primary and secondary sources about women"s history from ancient times to the present day
  15. Medieval Sourcebook: Introduction: Collection of primary and secondary sources about Medieval history
  16. NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources: Collections of primary and secondary sources in Medieval history
  17. Perseus Digital Library
  18. Texts and Documents - China: Collection of Chinese documents from ancient through modern times
Databases
 
Please remember to use the remote access passwords link to search either of these databases from off campus.
  1. Salem History Online - Great Lives and Great Events- When you do a search, look for the tab "primary source"
  2. Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

These print resources contain innumerable primary source documents. All of the books listed here are on reserve in the library and do not circulate. Ask a librarian if you need help locating the cart in the library.

270                 Bettenson. Documents of the Christian Church                          #015592-5

291.09            Eliade. From Primitives to Zen                                                       #022942-8

303.482          Lewis. A Middle East Mosaic                                                         #051602-8

325.32            Smith. Imperialism                                                                           #060390

327.51            Gelber. The Dragon and the Foreign Devils                                  #065299

330.938          Austin. Economic & Social History of Ancient Greece                #200410

355                 Keegan. The Book of War: 25 Centuries of War Writing              #051305-2

359                 Mammoth Book of Eyewitness Naval Battles                               #111307 or #200521

808.08            Heritage of Western Civilization, v. 1                                             #052354-9

REF 909         Milestone Documents in World History

909                 Eyewitness to History                                                                     #046544-6

909                 The Mammoth Book of Eyewitness History                                  #99420

909                 Webster. Historical Selections                                                       #010047-X

909.04927007  Ibn Khaldun. The Muqaddimah                                                    #090042

909.07            Gabrieli. Arab Historians of the Crusades                                    #99237

REF 909.07    Middle Ages (476-1500)                                                                  #200768

909.09            The Church in the Roman Empire                                                  #049106-8

909.09            Rome: Late Republic and Principate                                             #049105-6

909.097          The Islamic World                                                                            #044181-8

909.09821      Makers of the Western Tradition v. 1                                             #99356

909.09821      Sources of the Western Tradition                                                  #110949

909.09821      Western Civilization, v. 1 & v. 2                                                     #060749, #060750

909.09821      The Western Tradition, v. 1 & v. 2                                                  #99437, #99432

915.693          Jewish Heritage Reader                                                                  #018321-0

930                 Davis. Readings in Ancient History v. 1 & v. 2                              #000631-2, #92446

930                 Readings in Ancient History                                                           #051253-9

930                 Readings in the History of the Ancient World                              #111185

931.04            Qian. Records of the Grand Historian                                           #060809

932.021          Jones. Cleopatra: A Sourcebook                                                   #064313

937                 Lewis. Roman Civilization, v. 1 & v. 2                                             #051488-3, #050566-3

937                 Shelton. As the Romans Did                                                            #115046

937.05            The Landmark Julius Caesar: The Complete Works                     #071623                                          

937.08            Roman Eastern Frontier and the Persian Wars                              #92906

938                 Readings in the Classical Historians                                             #045261-0

940                 The Greek Polis                                                                                #049104-4

940                 Viorst. The Great Documents of Western Civilization                  #019518

940.1              Medieval Europe                                                                              #049107-X

940.1              Tierney. The Middle Ages, v. 1                                                        #93980

951                 Early Medieval China                                                                       #070024

951                 Sources of Chinese Tradition, v. 1                                                 #063274

951.9              Sources of Korean Tradition, v. 1 & v. 2                                        #67773, #112461

952                 Sources of Japanese Tradition                                                      #93396

954                 Sources of Indian Tradition                                                            #061308

Loading ...