Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Articles - Chicago

This LibGuide is designed to provide students with assistance in citing sources from a variety of sources.

Online Journal Citing Tips

  • Only include an URL that is stable.

  • Make sure to include the date accessed if there is no available publication date. 

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

A peer reviewed article is an article published in a scholarly journal that is reviewed by scholars and experts to ensure its accuracy and creditability before being published. Due to the vetting process these articles have undergone, peer reviewed articles are recognized as valuable pieces of research and are excellent sources to use in your own research.

You can easily search for peer reviewed articles in Burroughs library’s databases by selecting the “peer reviewed” option, often found on the side bar.

Citing Articles in Your Bibliography

Print Article Structure

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year of publication). Page(s).

Online or Database Article Structure Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year of publication). Page(s). doi:xxxx OR URL.
Print Journal Article Sánchez, Raúl. "Outside the Text: Retheorizing Empiricism and Identity." College English 74 (2012): 234-246.
Book Review Marshall, Nancy Rose. Review of Joseph Crawhill, 1861-1913, One of the Glasgow Boys. Victorian Studies 42 (1999/2000): 358-60.
Online or Database Article
Arnstein, Walter L. "The Americanization of Queen Victoria." Historian 72, no. 4 (Winter2010 2010): 831-846. Academic Search Elite, EBSCOhost (accessed December 5, 2017).
Online Electronic Book Rose, Charles Brian. The Archaeology of Greek and Roman Troy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014. https://doi-org.ezproxy.uleth.ca/10.1017/CBO9781139028080.
Downloaded
Electronic Book
Atwood, Margaret. The Heart Goes Last. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2016. Kindle. 

Journal vs. Magazine

 

   Academic Journal Magazine
Appearance Attractive appearance, Eye-catching cover
Pictures and illustrations in color
Plain cover
May contain graphs, charts or case studies
Audience Non-professionals, General audience
Written in non-technical language
Professors, scholars, researchers, or students
Written in the technical language of the field
Content Personalities, news, and general interest articles
A wide variety of subjects
Articles written by staff, may be unsigned
Report original research, discoveries, or experimentation
Publish research projects, their methodology, and significance
Articles written by contributing authors, with institution indicated
Ads Heavy Few or none
Reviewers Reviewed by editors Reviewed by editors, peers, and referees
Citations Few or no references Bibliographic references (footnotes, end notes, etc.)
Examples National Geographic
National Wildlife
People
Time
Biology of the Cell
Social Forces
School Science Review
Journal of Health Care Management

 

Footnotes vs. Bibliography

Footnotes: Citations at the end of the page on which the source is referenced, marked by a superscript number which corresponds to the superscript number within the body of the text next to the content being cited.

Bibliography: All of the sources you consulted while writing your paper. These full citations are placed in alphabetical order by author's last name and include sources cited and relevant source that were not cited but used as a reference. 

Chicago Style Basics

Use these basic guidelines when preparing your paper:

  • Use one-inch margins all around.
  • Spacing: Double-space throughout (including block quotes)
  • Choose a clean 12-point font.
  • Include a title page.
  • Page numbers begin in the header of the first page of text with Arabic number 1. 
  • Cite your sources in both the footnotes and the bibliography page.