Skip to main content

Intensive Art: Databases

A collection of resources for students for students in Intensive Art.

Welcome

We suggest you start searching for images and information using the library databases listed below. These databases will provide creditable information about artists and their work. 

  • Artstor: Best used for finding images
  • Grove Dictionary of Art/ Oxford Art Online: Useful for both image and article searching
  • Credo: Best used for finding articles

Accessing Artstor from Home

You must register for an account to use many of Artstor’s features, such as downloading images, curating groups of images, and downloading groups of images to PowerPoint.

  • From any computer on campus, go to library.artstor.org.
  • Enter the Artstor Digital Library. 
  • From this page, click “register” in the upper right corner and enter your information. This is the information you use when you want to access Artstor from off campus! 
  • Remember your login information!  

Art Databases

Using databases from off campus

You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.

Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.

Artstor Browsing Tips

  • Browse entire collections
  • Browse by classification or geography
  • Use Advanced Search without entering a term and limit your results by date range, classification, and geography