Skip to main content

Resources for Model United Nations: Model UN 7 & 8

Use this LibGuide to research your country, as well as find positions on a variety of international issues.

JBS Library Databases

You may access the JBS Library’s databases both on and off-campus. 

Using databases from off campus

You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.

Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.

Where do I start?

New to MUN?

  1. First, you will be assigned to a country, then a committee or just a committee.
  2. Once you have your assignment, then you can begin your research. 
  3. You are a representative of whatever country you are assigned.  So BE that country.  Find out THEIR point of view, not the US point of view.
  4. Next, you might want to visit this UN site to find out what the UN recommends you do: Research Overview: Model UN Preparation Overview

For Beginner's: UN Associations Preparation Guide

Model UN Preparation Guide fromhttp://www.unausa.org/munpreparation

 

Research Overview
The first step to Model UN preparation is research. This section poses helpful research questions and points you to the best rescources for gathering information on your country and its positions, the topics to be discussed at the conference, and the UN system.

 

Country Assignments
Shortly after you register for any Model UN Conference, your delegation will receive its country assignments. Learn how to effectively assign countries among your Model UN team.

 

Position Papers
Position papers allow you to explain your country's position on an issue and start to provide ideas on how the committe should address the issue. This section explains how to write a position paper and provides some helpful tips and even a sample to help you write an effective position paper.

 

Flow of Debate
The flow of debate is the order in which delegates at a Model UN conference give speeches, negotiate, propose resolutions and amendments, and vote. This section features a flow of debate chart that will give you a feel for how a Model UN committee works- from the first speech to the final vote!

 

Public Speaking
Public speaking is one of the most important skills that you will need as a Model UN delegate. This section will help you learn more about the various oppurtunities for speaking at a Model UN conference. The section also provides tips for public speaking to help improve your delivery and boost your confidence.

 

Rules of Procedure
The rules and procedures at a Model UN are important for keeping order so that the committee can make progress. This section explains how a committee operates and provides a chart of rules and motions to help you learn these important procedures.

 

Caucusing
Caucusing, or informal negotiation, is one of the most significant parts of a Model UN conference. Much of the problem-solving, collaboration and compromising happens in these important sessions. This section explains the different types of caucuses and provides tips for effective caucusing.

 

Writing Resolutions
In this section, you will learn about the role of sponsors and signatories in the resolution-writing process, as well as how to use preambulatory and operative clauses and the process of proposing amendments. The section also includes a sample resolution and tips for writing effective resolutions.

 

Dressing for Success
Western business attire, or international standard business attire, serves as customary dress for workplaces and for many Model UN conferences. In this section, appropriate dress is explained in detail.

Suggested Internet Sites

THIMUN Qatar Website

https://qatar.thimun.org/​

Model UN Resource Links

http://www.unausa.org/links

Model UN Preparation Guide: Includes how to dress, writing papers and resolutions, the flow of debate, etc.

http://www.unausa.org/global-classrooms-model-un/how-to-participate/model-un-preparation

United Nations Website

http://www.un.org/

UN Member States: Embassies

http://www.un.org/en/member-states/index.html

Electronic Embassy: Links to international embassies’ presence in US

www.embassy.org/

UN Treaty Collection

https://treaties.un.org/

Country Information:

CIA World Factbook

US State Department

 

Tips for Researching Countries

Tips for Researching Your Country

Look up your country’s permanent mission to the UN. You can also call the mission directly to ask questions or request a position statement on an issue.

Find your country’s voting records and read speeches on the United Nations Bibliographic Information System website.

Search the UN Website using your country and keywords from your issue to find committees that your country sits on to give you data on how your country feels about certain topics.

Tips for Researching Issues

Tips for Researching Issues

Check out the library's databases for up-to-date developments on an issue. Ask a librarian for help.

Look at the UN Economic and Social Development page, which has an index to some prominent issues as well as a list of UN agencies that work in various issue-areas. Also, through the United Nations Documentation Center, you can find resolutions and voting records from the current and previous years.

Visit non-governmental organization (NGO) websites. NGOs are an important part of the UN system, in part due to the valuable research and information they generate. Look for NGOs that address your topic.

Read academic publications. Although they can be complex, they provide in-depth information on many issues. Professors, students and researchers are constantly conducting studies and publishing papers.

Newspapers and Periodicals

The New York Times

Find login information on the Remote Access Passwords page.

The Week

NoodleTools