Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Style Basics
Use these basic guidelines when preparing your paper:
- Use one-inch margins all around.
- Spacing: Double-space throughout (including block quotes)
- Choose a clean 12-point font.
- Include a title page.
- Page numbers begin in the header of the first page of text with Arabic number 1.
- Cite your sources in both the footnotes and the bibliography page.
The Chicago Manual of Style by The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago's staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words--no matter what the delivery medium--this is the one reference you simply must have.
Call Number: REF 808.027 CHICA
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Chicago Citation Style
Chicago style is used to write papers and cite sources most often within the discipline of history. You probably used this style for your history research paper! Look below and on the other Chicago Style tabs (at the top of the page) for examples for the general format for research papers, footnote citations, and the Bibliography page.
This style is also often known as "Turabian". This refers to Kate L. Turabian who is the author of the famous Manual for Writers of Research, Theses, and Dissertations a style manual based heavily off of the Chicago style.
Footnotes vs. Bibliography
Footnotes: Citations at the end of the page on which the source is referenced, marked by a superscript number which corresponds to the superscript number within the body of the text next to the content being cited.
Bibliography: All of the sources you consulted while writing your paper. These full citations are placed in alphabetical order by author's last name and include sources cited and relevant source that were not cited but used as a reference.
Bibliography vs Works Cited
Bibliography : All of the sources you consulted while writing your paper, including sources cited and sources just referenced. (Usually used when citing sources in the Chicago format style.)
Works Cited : Only the items you actually cited in your paper. (Usually used when citing sources in the MLA format style.)