Skip to main content

Stamper Family Library

Fun During Quarantine

Board Game Arena

No download necessary - play directly from your web browser. With your friends and thousands of players around the world. For free. Learn new games or improve your skills at your favorite games, all at your own pace.

#GWRChallenge

We want everyone to be able to stay inspired and have fun, while staying inside. That's why we’re pleased to bring you the #GWRchallenge, a weekly record challenge we will be hosting across Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and TikTok. This will (hopefully!) lead to a new title holder every week.

Harry Potter at Home

Harry Potter at Home: Join Harry Potter at Home where you'll find all the latest magical treats to keep you occupied including special contributions from Bloomsbury and Scholastic, nifty magical craft videos, fun articles, quizzes, puzzles and plenty more.

Hogwarts Digital Escape Room

Harry Potter fans can try breaking out of this Hogwarts Digital Escape Room, created by Sydney Krawiec, Youth Services Librarian at Peters Township Public Library in McMurray, PA.

The Science of Well-being Yale Course

Taught on campus as PSYC 157: Psychology and the Good Life, and otherwise known as "Laurie Santos' happiness class," this is Yale's most popular undergrad class. Now offered for free through Coursera.

Research Databases

Access Science

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. AccessScience has made most of its content available through June 15th.

Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available.

Gale in Conext: Middle School

Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more for students in middle grades.

Gale In Context: High School

Gale In Context: High School provides grades 9–12 with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards to help with papers, projects, and presentations, while empowering student development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

Knowable Magazine

What is known? What isn’t known? Knowable Magazine, the digital publication from Annual Reviews, seeks to make that knowledge accessible to all. Knowable Magazine explores the real-world significance of scholarly work through a journalistic lens. We report on the current state of play across a wide variety of fields — from agriculture to high-energy physics; biochemistry to water security; the origins of the universe to psychology.

National Emergency Library

Announcing the National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

Reading Resources

Amazon Free & Cheap Reads

Kindle opens the door to hundreds of thousands of affordable books. Whether you're looking for a great romance, an epic tale of adventure, the latest financial advice or anything else, there are books for every reader and every budget. And with the free Kindle Reading app, you can enjoy all these affordable options even if you do not own a Kindle device

Authorama

Authorama.com features completely free books from a variety of different authors, collected here for you to read online or offline

Drama Online

Over 1200 plays in text ranging from Aeschylus to the present day; 350 audio plays from LA Theatre Works; and over 20 filmed theatrical performances from Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen, Stage on Screen and Maxine Peake’s Hamlet with a masterclass from Patsy Rodenburg, a Shakespeare acting coach. Check our remote access passwords page for login information.

Gale Ebooks for Middle School

Gale eBooks SEL collection for elementary and middle schoolers helps students understand emotions like anger, happiness, impulsivity, stress, and more. 

Gale Ebooks for High Schoolers

Gale eBooks SEL collection for high schoolers and undergraduates helps older students understand and manage anxiety, stress, depression, and more

Hathi Trust Digital Library

The HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.

JSTOR eBooks

JSTOR is making its collection of over 35,000 ebooks freely available to us through June 30, 2020. Remote access login is the same with links available on the Confidential Password Google Site. Follow this link for a downloadable list of all the popular titles.

Open Library

Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. The ultimate goal of the Open Library is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world. While large in scope and ambition, this goal is within our grasp. Achieving it will require the participation of librarians, authors, government officials and technologists.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

Teacher Resources

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews provides scientific literature reviews written by top experts in scientific disciplines including the life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. The articles seek to provide empirical background based on a synthesis of knowledge from multiple relevant studies. 

Libro fm - Free Audiobooks for Educators

If you are a K-12 teacher or teach in higher education, you are eligible for the educator ALC list. You’ll receive a half dozen audiobooks that publishers think you’ll want to use in your classroom or recommend to parents and students. Create a free account and then request access as an educator.

Free Tools for Schools Dealing with Coronavirus

An open access Google document of compiled resources for schools dealing with the novel corona virus. It includes resources for distance learning, lists of price-reduced/free tools, training and webinars, and just for fun activities.