Finding Sources - Lewis - English 9 - LibGuides at John Burroughs School

Possible topics

Not finding quality results? Try these tips!

Be encouraged by the knowledge that research is not a linear process and often takes multiple searches before you find what you need.
Try different keywords. Search for synonyms of your original keywords.
Use quotation marks (") to find results described by exact phrases.
Not finding enough results? Broaden your search.
Finding too many results? Narrow your search.
Don't include "stop words" in your search. Stop words are words such as a, an, as, at, in, is, on, that, the, and which.
Try your search in a different database.

Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
Masterfile Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite contains full-text articles for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor consists of a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted-usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
Explora- High School Version This link opens in a new window
To find images, perform a search, then you will find related images on the right side of the search results.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full content of many of the Gale's print publications about controversial issues, such as the Opposing Viewpoints series, Current Controversies, and more. It also includes articles from reference books, periodical articles and websites.

Click HERE to see a clickable list of our online periodicals and newspapers, along with user names and passwords for access.

A-Z Database List
Here is a list of all of the research databases you can use to find articles, images, videos and other information. The list can be sorted by topic, alphabetically or by vendor.