Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to use a database
Databases can be a great place to find all sorts of resources for any research project you do - books, reference book articles, magazine and newspaper articles, video, audio, statistics, and even recommended websites.
As you search in different databases, you may want to try different keywords, here are a few to use while searching:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Lou Gehrig's disease
When you use a database you will probably need to narrow down your search to find materials that are relevant to your topic. Here are some limiting tips:
- limit by publication type or name (for example, look for articles from the New York Times)
- limit by date of publication. You are researching a current issue, so you probably don't want any materials that are more than 5-8 years old.
- add search terms - the more terms in your search the more focused your search will be. Leave out words like the, and, a, if, is, to, an and so. These terms will be omitted from your search anyway.
- If you want to look up a particular topic or person of more than one word, use quotes to make the database do a phrase search. "John F. Kennedy", "Civil Rights Movement"
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
Science in Context
Science in Context
Science In Context provides information on significant science topics and showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to climate change and genetically modified organisms. Topics span the fields of biology, chemistry, earth and
environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology.The collection includes millions of full-text articles from academic periodicals and news sources, as well as over 200 experiments and projects, over 20,000 images, reference sources, and audio and video content from organizations such as NASA and Khan Academy.
Credo Source Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Links to other library online reference sites are included on the search results page and include Oxford University Press reference tools, links to our catalog, Britannica online, Salem History and many many more.