Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher Reusable Resources: Databases

This guide contains preset database links and other resources that can be reused in many search guides.

What is a database?

A database is a searchable collection of sources. Databases can be a great place to find all sorts of resources for research projects - books, reference book articles, magazine and newspaper articles, video, audio, statistics, and even recommended websites.

Academic Search Elite

African American Studies Center

American National Biography

Annals of American History

ArtStor

Atomic Learning

Britannica

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica World Atlas

Classroom Video on Demand

Dictionary of National Biography

Ebsco Discovery Service

Ebscohost Suite

Enciclopedia Moderna

ERIC

Gale Reference Online

Gales Sources in US History Online: the American Revolution

Global Issues in Context

Greenfile

Grove Dictionary of Art Online

Historical Statistics of the US

Jstor

Learning Express Library

Masterfile Premier

Newspaper Source

Novelist

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Oxford Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

Oxford Foreign Language Dictionaries

Oxford Scholarship

Project Muse

Professional Development Collection

Salem History

Salem Science

Science Reference Center

Shakespeare Collection

World History in Context

How to use databases

When you use a database you will probably need to narrow down your search to find materials that are relevant to your topic. Here are some limiting tips:

  • limit by publication type or name (for example, look for articles from the New York Times)
  • limit by date of publication. You are researching a current issue, so you probably don't want any materials that are more than 5-8 years old. 
  • add search terms - the more terms in your search the more focused your search will be. Leave out words like the, and, a, if, is, to, an and so. These terms will be omitted from your search anyway.
  • If you want to look up a particular topic or person of more than one word, use quotes to make the database do a phrase search. "John F. Kennedy", "Civil Rights Movement"

When you find something to use in a database, download a copy and save it to a folder in your Google Drive to read later. Never print until you are SURE you need a physical print copy of the article. You may find that you can annotate, highlight and read the article just as well on line as in print. Also, most of our databases will let you export the bibliographic citation to EasyBib. Be sure you have a tab open with your active project.