Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the library catalog to search for print and eBooks in the library! Many current event materials can be located in the book stacks under the 300s call number section. Reference books are also a good place to look during your research!
Ask a librarian for help with your search!
Search the Library's Collections
Current Events Databases
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams™ is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. ... Each report includes up-to-date, engaging cultural information, complete with images, an historical timeline, fun facts, and sections on history, population, "life as a kid," and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full content of many of the Gale's print publications about controversial issues, such as the Opposing Viewpoints series, Current Controversies, and more. It also includes articles from reference books, periodical articles and websites.
Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Links to other library online reference sites are included on the search results page and include Oxford University Press reference tools, links to our catalog, Britannica online, Salem History and many many more.
Explora- High School Version This link opens in a new window
This new interface from Ebsco is designed specifically for the general research needs of high school students to provide a variety of appropriate magazine and newspaper articles, chapters from books, and videos on a wide selection of topics.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The searchable Encyclopaedia Britannica, combined with web sites, periodical articles, images, video and more.
Britannica World Atlas This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of maps, flags, articles and statistics in this interactive atlas and choose from political, physical, and othe rmaps as you drill down from continents to countries, states and cities.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in- depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with a tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It includes data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources including government databases, scientific journals, consumer research institutes and much more. For each statistic, meta data is provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.
Find Newspaper Articles
Greenfile This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Periodical Titles to Look For
Here are some credible current event sources! We have these sources in print too.
- The New York Times
- Time Magazine
- Wall Street
Come check out our collection in the library. Issues can be checked out!
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.