Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Noodle Tools is a bibliography tool that you may use for citing your sources. Choose the Google sign in on the right to access your account.
Shakespeare in the JBS Library:
Reference Sources: Check out our reference sources on Shakespeare for books like "The Columbia Dictionary of Quotations from Shakespeare," or "All Things Shakespeare: an encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World," or "Shakespeare A to Z: the Essential Reference to his Plays, his Life, and Times, and More." The Shakespeare reference sources may be found under the call number 822.33.
Other Print Sources: Find more on Shakespeare's literature in the 820s in the normal stacks section of the library. If you are looking for history try a specific catalog search or browse through the 942s.
Selected Online Shakespeare Archives
Start your Research Here (in our collection):
Scholarly Resources, Articles, and Information:
Credo Source Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Links to other library online reference sites are included on the search results page and include Oxford University Press reference tools, links to our catalog, Britannica online, Salem History and many many more.
New Oxford Shakespeare
The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The definitive record of the English language.
Ebsco Discovery Service
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Text Work Resources
And the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) listed in the databases above!
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
Searching "Quick Tips":
- Use the Advanced Search.
- Use AND to combine keywords and phrases when searching.
- Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases
- Don't limit yourself to just one database or one set of search results.
- When searching for books, use broader terms than when searching for articles.
- Use the keyboard shortcut Control+F (or Command+F on the Mac) to find a word somewhere on a page. (This works for web pages, PDFs, and Word documents!)
- Ask a librarian if you have questions!