Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources are a good place to start because they tend to provide basic background information in an easy-to-digest format. Here are several reference sources online and in the library that might be of use to you. Remember that if you are at home, you may need to use the passwords available at the "Top Secret" link below.
Getting onto JBS resources from home
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
The searchable Encyclopaedia Britannica, combined with web sites, periodical articles, images, video and more.
Reference books in JBS library
Water Planet by
Publication Date: 2016-10-24
Through case studies, opposing viewpoints, and primary documents, this reference work examines the environmental and sustainability issues regarding water as well as how water is an intrinsic part of human culture. * Presents a variety of resources and multidisciplinary perspectives on water in a single book * Offers opposing viewpoints on current world water issues that enable readers to consider these problems from political, cultural, economic, and scientific vantage points * Documents how some practical necessities regarding our global water problems are in conflict with established cultural tradition and values
Critical Food Issues by
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
This authoritative, research-based collection examines urgent threats to future global food security and evaluates current and potential solutions. * 31 essays in two volumes-one on environmental, agricultural, and health concerns, and one on topics related to society, culture, and ethics. * 41 contributors from a wide range of disciplines including environmental, nutritional, soil, and agricultural sciences, medicine and dietetics, education, literature, history, philosophy, economics, sociology, anthropology, and gender studies * Tables presenting important statistical data concerning food growth and distribution, health concerns, and economic issues * A comprehensive glossary including important acronyms and abbreviations
The Environment A to Z by
Publication Date: 2000-11-13
Biotechnology in Context by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
GMO Food by
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
Providing an exhaustive background on the history of genetically modified organism (GMO) crops and foods as well as the controversies surrounding these products, this book allows readers to develop their own particular viewpoint on the production and use of GMO substances. * Presents both historical and current views of the topic that provide readers with a neutral presentation of the hard science as well as the social issues in question * Includes perspective essays written by individuals with expertise in issues related to the production and distribution of GMO foods in the United States and other parts of the world * Assesses the long-existing differences in attitudes toward the development and commercialization of GMO foods and crops in the United States versus in the European Union * Addresses the ongoing debate regarding whether and how genetically modified products should be labeled for sale
Publication Date: 2016-09-20
Caitlin Shetterly discovered the importance of GMOs the hard way. Shortly after she learned that her son had an alarming sensitivity to GMO corn, she was told that she had the same condition, and her family's daily existence changed forever. Modified delves deep into the heart of the matter - from the cornfields of Nebraska to the beekeeping conventions in Brussels - to shine a light on the people, the science and the corporations behind the food we serve ourselves and our families every day.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Credo Source Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Links to other library online reference sites are included on the search results page and include Oxford University Press reference tools, links to our catalog, Britannica online, Salem History and many many more.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
This site includes the full text for the Salem Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Earth Science, and Biomes & Ecosystems.
Access to the School Collection, a growing database of e-books for high school curricula. Allows simultaneous access to titles.
More reference books from the JBS library
DNA Technology by
Publication Date: 2009-11-12
A concise, authoritative source that explores the latest advances and potential uses of DNA, as well as the ethical dilemmas surrounding the altering of genetic material. * Includes a range of primary sources including tables on genetically modified crops, position papers written by nongovernmental organizations, laws, and regulations in the United States and elsewhere in the world * Offers a listing of the most important terms used in a discussion of DNA technologies