Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Statista provides users with a tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It includes data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources including government databases, scientific journals, consumer research institutes and much more. For each statistic, meta data is provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database contains the full content of many of the Gale's print publications about controversial issues, such as the Opposing Viewpoints series, Current Controversies, and more. It also includes articles from reference books, periodical articles and websites.
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
A to Z Database List
Click here to see a list of all our available databases. You may filter the list by topic.
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals consist of magazines, academic journals and newspapers. They are a great resource when you are trying to find very specific information about a topic or very current information about a topic.
While the library does have some periodicals in print, you will probably use a periodical database to find articles. The databases will give you access to thousands of different publications, most of which provide full text articles. The Discovery Service search listed below allows you to search the majority of our holdings all at once. The trick is to do a simple search, then filter your results.