Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2018 Research Paper
So you have to write a research paper on Woodrow Wilson, the League or Nations, and the Treaty of Versailles? Use these library resources below to find the primary sources and secondary sources you need to support your point of view!
Click on images to see Library of Congress source.
Term Paper Articles
"Woodrow Wilson: Egocentric Crusader" and "Woodrow Wilson: Father of the Future"
Document Analysis: Optional
Primary and Secondary Sources
Primary sources are first-hand, authoritative accounts of an event, topic, or historical time period. They are typically produced at the time of the event by a person who experienced it, but can also be made later on in the form of personal memoirs or oral histories. Think original documents.
Secondary sources interpret or critique primary sources. They often include an analysis of the event that was discussed or featured in the primary source.
Library Books : Optional
1917 by This is the story of two men, and the two decisions, that transformed world history in a single tumultuous year, 1917: Wilson's entry into World War One and Lenin's Bolshevik Revolution. In April 1917 Woodrow Wilson, champion of American democracy but also segregation; advocate for free trade and a new world order based on freedom and justice; thrust the United States into World War One in order to make the "world safe for democracy"--only to see his dreams for a liberal international system dissolve into chaos, bloodshed, and betrayal. That October Vladimir Lenin, communist revolutionary and advocate for class war and "dictatorship of the proletariat," would overthrow Russia's earlier democratic revolution that had toppled the all-power Czar, all in the name of liberating humanity--and instead would set up the most repressive totalitarian regime in history, the Soviet Union. In this incisive, fast-paced history, New York Times bestselling author Arthur Herman brilliantly reveals how Lenin and Wilson rewrote the rules of modern geopolitics. Through the end of World War I, countries only marched into war to increase or protect their national interests. After World War I, countries began going to war over ideas. Together Lenin and Wilson unleashed the disruptive ideologies that would sweep the world, from nationalism and globalism to Communism and terrorism, and that continue to shape our world today. Our New World Disorder is the legacy left by Wilson and Lenin, and their visions of the perfectibility of man. One hundred years later, we still sit on the powder keg they first set the detonator to, through war and revolution.
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Breaking the Heart of the World by The fight over the League of Nations at the end of World War I was one of the great political debates in American history. President Woodrow Wilson, himself a key architect of the League, was uncompromising in his belief that the United States would rise to a position of leadership in the peaceful union of states that he had envisaged. A masterful politician and distinguished theorist, Wilson was unprepared for the persuasiveness of his opponents and the potency of their argument. Though he struggled tirelessly in the summer of 1919 to drum popular and political support for the League, he suffered a disabling stroke in July. The United States Senate ultimately rejected membership in the League, and the League failed to realise its diplomatic potential. In this engaging narrative, John Cooper relates the story of Wilson's battle for the League with sympathy, accuracy, and a deep understanding of the times.
Publication Date: 2001-09-24
Woodrow Wilson by The first major biography of America’s twenty-eighth president in nearly two decades, from one of America’s foremost Woodrow Wilson scholars. A Democrat who reclaimed the White House after sixteen years of Republican administrations, Wilson was a transformative president—he helped create the regulatory bodies and legislation that prefigured FDR’s New Deal and would prove central to governance through the early twenty-first century, including the Federal Reserve system and the Clayton Antitrust Act; he guided the nation through World War I; and, although his advocacy in favor of joining the League of Nations proved unsuccessful, he nonetheless established a new way of thinking about international relations that would carry America into the United Nations era. Yet Wilson also steadfastly resisted progress for civil rights, while his attorney general launched an aggressive attack on civil liberties. Even as he reminds us of the foundational scope of Wilson’s domestic policy achievements, John Milton Cooper, Jr., reshapes our understanding of the man himself: his Wilson is warm and gracious—not at all the dour puritan of popular imagination. As the president of Princeton, his encounters with the often rancorous battles of academe prepared him for state and national politics. Just two years after he was elected governor of New Jersey, Wilson, now a leader in the progressive movement, won the Democratic presidential nomination and went on to defeat Theodore Roosevelt and William Howard Taft in one of the twentieth century’s most memorable presidential elections. Ever the professor, Wilson relied on the strength of his intellectual convictions and the power of reason to win over the American people. John Milton Cooper, Jr., gives us a vigorous, lasting record of Wilson’s life and achievements. This is a long overdue, revelatory portrait of one of our most important presidents—particularly resonant now, as another president seeks to change the way government relates to the people and regulates the economy.
Call Number: 973.91 COOPE
Treaty of Versailles
The full text of the Treaty of Versailles
Papers of Woodrow Wilson
Woodrow Wilson's papers from 1913 to 1920.
Library of Congress Treaty of Versailles Documents
A collection of primary source documents gathered by the Library of Congress. Make sure to take a look at the selected newspapers (page middle) and government documents full text (page bottom).
League of Nations Statistical and Disarmament Documents
This digital collection from Northwestern University Library contains the full text of 260 League of Nations Documents that focus on the League's founding, its published international statistics, and its work toward disarmament. Search or browse the available documents (1919-1946) or view the Statistical Yearbook (1926-1944).
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity covering the pre-Truman Period. Learn to cite it here: https://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments/citing-frus
Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 through the Library of Congress' Chronicling America.
Annals of American History
Primary source documents on World War I, the League of Nations, and the Treaty of Versailles.
“Safe for Democracy”
Woodrow Wilson asks for war in order to make the world “Safe for Democracy”.
League of Nations Photo Archive
The site, from the Indiana University Center for the Study of Global Change, includes digitized photographs from the League of Nations Archives. The "Sources" section features a timeline, a bibliography, and an extensive research guide to reference works about the League of Nations.
Library of Congress
Search for League of Nations on the Library of Congress' website. Use the tools in the left side bar to help narrow your search.
Presidential Documents Archive
For presidential papers, speeches, and documents, the American Presidency Project is a good place to begin your research.
- Use the Advanced Search.
- Use AND to combine keywords and phrases when searching.
- Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases
- Don't limit yourself to just one database or one set of search results.
- When searching for books, use broader terms than when searching for articles.
- Use the keyboard shortcut Control+F (or Command+F on the Mac) to find a word somewhere on a page. (This works for web pages, PDFs, and Word documents!)
- Ask a librarian if you have questions!
Reference Databases : Primary and Secondary
Try a simple search for "League of Nations" or the "Woodrow Wilson" to find some excellent secondary sources! Using secondary sources for background research is optional.
Credo Source Reference Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Links to other library online reference sites are included on the search results page and include Oxford University Press reference tools, links to our catalog, Britannica online, Salem History and many many more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.