LibGuides: Resources for Model United Nations: THIMUN

Resources for THIMUN

JBS THIMUN Canvas course: This course will be where you will be able to transact all your THIMUN-related business. This course contains the THIMUN schedule and any announcements. Upload policy statements, resolution drafts and final copies to the corresponding assignment. There is also a page with links to reference material and websites that should come in handy for your THIMUN research.

Recommended: The UN Documentation Research Guide: An overview of selected UN documents, publications, databases and websites.

Editing of Resolutions at the United Nations
Info about structure and examples of changes made to resolutions.

2023 Conference program

https://thehague.thimun.org/conference-2/programme/

Issues on the agenda

https://thehague.thimun.org/conference-2/issues-on-the-agenda/

The Economist: Netherlands

https://www.economist.com/search?q=netherlands

The Guardian World News Stories: Netherlands

https://www.theguardian.com/world/netherlands

New York Times Countries & Regions News: Netherlands

https://www.nytimes.com/topic/destination/netherlands?searchResultPosition=0

Foreign Affairs: Netherlands

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/regions/netherlands

You may access the JBS Library databases both on and off-campus. Use the link in the box below for the Remote Access Passwords.

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite contains full-text articles for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in- depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
Jstor This link opens in a new window
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full content of many of the Gale's print publications about controversial issues, such as the Opposing Viewpoints series, Current Controversies, and more. It also includes articles from reference books, periodical articles and websites.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.

ABYZ News Links
BBC Visit BBC News for up-to-the-minute news, breaking news, video, audio and feature stories.
CNN World View CNN world news today for international news and videos from Europe, Asia, Africa, the Middle East and the Americas.

Explora- High School Version This link opens in a new window
This new interface from Ebsco is designed specifically for the general research needs of high school students to provide a variety of appropriate magazine and newspaper articles, chapters from books, and videos on a wide selection of topics.

Foreign Affairs
Since its founding in 1922, Foreign Affairs has been the leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.

Greenfile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Journal of the United Nations

https://journal.un.org/en/new-york/all/

Council on Foreign Relations Global Conflict Tracker

https://www.cfr.org/global-conflict-tracker

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime: Resources for Mandate Areas

http://www.unodc.org/e4j/mun/resources/index.html

United Nations website

https://www.un.org/en

United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library

https://www.un.org/library

UN4MUN: An initiative to teach MUN teams how to bring their simulations more in line with the way the UN actually works.

https://www.unitedambassadors.com/un4mun

UNTERM: Multilingual terminology database maintained jointly by the main duty stations and regional commissions of the United Nations system.

https://unterm.un.org/UNTERM/portal/welcome

UN Web TV: The United Nations Live and On Demand

https://media.un.org/en/webtv/

THIMUN The Hague conference

https://thehague.thimun.org/

THIMUN Qatar conference

https://qatar.thimun.org/

United Nations Digital Library: Find voting records and speeches for General Assembly and Security Council (formerly housed at UNBISnet) as well as images, maps and documents; can limit search to specific UN bodies.

https://digitallibrary.un.org/

Official Documents System of the UN: All types of UN documents from 1993, with some older materials.

https://documents.un.org/prod/ods.nsf/home.xsp

UN Member States: Embassies

https://www.un.org/en/about-us/member-states

Electronic Embassy: Links to international embassies’ presence in US

www.embassy.org/

UN Treaty Collection

https://treaties.un.org/

Worldwide NGO Directory

https://www.wango.org/resources.aspx?section=ngodir

IMUNA Country Profiles

https://www.imuna.org/resources/country-profiles/

CIA World Factbook

https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/countries/

US State Department

https://www.state.gov/p/

International Monetary Fund: Works to foster worldwide economic stability. As an entity, it has data and statistics as well as economic information about many countries globally.

https://www.imf.org/external/index.htm

World Bank: An international organization with a focus on increasing economic development and reducing poverty worldwide.

http://www.worldbank.org/

UN Statistics Division: Clearinghouse, portal and standards keeper for UN statistics.

http://unstats.un.org/unsd/default.htm

UN Data Portal: One stop search engine that combines data from many IGO's.

http://data.un.org/

UN Comtrade: International Merchandise Trade Statistics from 1962- present.

http://comtrade.un.org/

UN Demographic Yearbook: World summary, population, fertility, fetal mortality, infant and maternal mortality, general mortality, nuptiality, divorces, etc.

http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/dyb/dyb2.htm

UN Conference on Trade and Development Databases: Global databank on world trade in creative products, Handbook of Statistics, Foreign Direct Investment, ICT Statistics, Millennium Indicators, Trade Analysis

https://unctad.org/en/Pages/Statistics.aspx

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with a tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It includes data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources including government databases, scientific journals, consumer research institutes and much more. For each statistic, meta data is provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.

UN Refugee Agency

https://www.unhcr.org/

UNHCR RefWorld: Search for country profiles, human rights reports, core international treaties and agreements, case law and refugee policy documents from a variety of sources. In particular, UNHCR's position papers relating to specific countries and case loads are highlighted here.

https://www.refworld.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/rwmain

UNHCR Refugee Data Finder

https://www.unhcr.org/refugee-statistics/

Global Compact on Refugees: Compact in Action Explore country profiles and the different initiatives which are turning the Global Compact on Refugees into action.

https://globalcompactrefugees.org/gcr-action

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime: Resources for Mandate Areas

http://www.unodc.org/e4j/mun/resources/index.html

UNODC TRACK: the central platform of Tools and Resources for Anti-Corruption Knowledge

http://www.track.unodc.org

UNODC Country Profiles

http://www.unodc.org/unodc/en/treaties/CAC/country-profile/index.html

UNODC Comments to the Comprehensive Study on Cybercrime

http://www.unodc.org/unodc/en/organized-crime/comments-to-the-comprehensive-study-on-cybercrime.html

SHERLOC - Sharing Electronic Resources and Laws on Crime

https://sherloc.unodc.org/cld/v3/sherloc/

Legislative Guide for the Implementation of UNTOC

https://sherloc.unodc.org/cld/v3/sherloc/legislative-guide/index.html

Civil Society Guide--UNCAC and the Private Sector
Convention Against Corruption
Convention Against Corruption: National Anti-Corruption Strategies
A practical guide for development and implementation
Legislative Guide for the Implementation of the United Nations Convention Against Corruption
Technical Guide to the United Nations Convention Against Corruption
Compendium of United Nations standards and norms in crime prevention and criminal justice
Handbook on police accountability, oversight and integrity
Introductory Handbook on the Prevention of Recidivism and the Social Reintegration of Offenders
Handbook on strategies to reduce overcrowding in prisons
Access to Justice: The Independence, Impartiality and Integrity of the Judiciary
INSPIRE: Seven Strategies for Ending Violence Against Children
UN Model Strategies and Practical Measures on the Elimination of Violence Against Children in the field of Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice
A new tool for policymakers, criminal justice officials and practitioners
Comprehensive Study on Cybercrime
Draft--February 2013
Study on the Effects of New Information Technologies on the Abuse and Exploitation of Children
The Use of the Internet for Terrorist Purposes
Comparative Analysis of Global Instruments on Firearms and other Conventional Arms: Synergies for Implementation
Country Fact Sheets
Summary data from country responses on firearms seizures and trafficking
Technical Guide to the Implementation of the Protocol against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms
Including parts and components and ammunition, supplementing the UN Convention Against Transnational Organized Crime
The Firearms Protocol and the Arms Trade Treaty: Divergence or Complementarity?
Issue paper
Model Law Against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Their Parts and Components and Ammunition
UNODC Study on Firearms 2015
UN Convention Against Transnational Organized Crime and the Protocols Thereto
Rules of Procedure for the Conference of the Parties to the UN Convention Against Transnational Organized Crime
Digest of Organized Crime Cases
A compilation of cases with commentaries and lessons learned
Model Legislative Provisions Against Organized Crime
The Globalization of Crime: A Transnational Organized Crime Threat Assessment
The Criminal Justice Response to Support Victims of Acts of Terrorism
Revised edition
Human Rights and Criminal Justice Responses to Terrorism
International Instruments Related to the Prevention and Suppression of International Terrorism
Preventing Terrorist Acts: A Criminal Justice Strategy Integrating Rule of Law Standards in Implementation of UN Anti-Terrorism Instruments
Technical assistance working paper--Terrorism Prevention Branch
Evidential Issues in Trafficking in Persons Cases
Case digest
Global Report on Trafficking in Persons 2016
Providing Effective Remedies for Victims of Trafficking in Persons
Issue paper by Inter-Agency Coordination Group Against Trafficking in Persons
Toolkit to Combat Smuggling of Migrants
Understanding the smuggling of migrants
Toolkit to Combat Trafficking in Persons: Addressing the Root Causes

Georgia is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia, located in between Western Asia and Eastern Europe. As a unitary, semi-presidential republic, the Georgian government is elected through a representative democracy (or indirect democracy), in which a group of elected officials choose the country’s leader. Georgia became independent of the Soviet Union in 1991, and is now currently a member of the Council of Europe and the GUAM Organization for Democracy and Economic Development.

Source: https://www.imuna.org/resources/country-profiles/georgia/

President of Georgia

https://www.president.gov.ge/en

Government of Georgia

https://www.gov.ge/home

Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development

http://www.economy.ge/?lang=en

Ministry of Environment Protection and Agriculture

https://mepa.gov.ge/

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

https://mfa.gov.ge/

Georgia Today Local independent newspaper

https://georgiatoday.ge/

The Republic of Zimbabwe, formerly known as Southern Rhodesia, is a democratic and presidential state located in Southern Africa between South Africa and Zambia. Zimbabwe was an annexed territory of the United Kingdom for several decades. It declared its independence in 1960 but was only recognized by the UK in 1980. Despite of being a parliamentary democracy, Zimbabwe has faced constant political and social instability which has reflected in its low income economy and development. Nevertheless, this country has great natural resources such as diamonds and minerals which represent a large development potential. In its efforts for development and stability, the people of Zimbabwe adopted a new constitution by referendum in 2013.

Source: https://www.imuna.org/resources/country-profiles/zimbabwe/

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

http://www.zimfa.gov.zw/

Ministry of Industry and Commerce

http://www.mic.gov.zw/

Ministry of Lands, Agriculture, Fisheries, Water and Rural Development

http://www.moa.gov.zw/

Office of the President

http://www.theopc.gov.zw/

Daily News Local independent newspaper shut down in previous years by Mugabe's government

https://dailynews.co.zw/ (currently behind paywall)

The Herald State-owned newspaper

https://www.herald.co.zw/

Other Zimbabwe newspapers Access through St. Louis County Library

https://login.slcl.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=AWNB

Log in with Username: 0031490600 and passcode 1234
Scroll down and click on "Access International News" on right side
In the second search bar on the page--the one that says "Enter any keyword to refine sources"--enter "Zimbabwe" to find the 14 newspapers included.
Click on the title of the publication to access. Newsday, Southern Eye, Zimbabwe Standard and Zimbabwe Independent are good options for independent news.

UN Meeting Coverage and Press Releases

https://www.un.org/press/en

UN News: Global Perspective, Human Stories

https://news.un.org/en/

Journal of the United Nations

https://journal.un.org/en/new-york/all/

UNHCR Media Centre

https://www.unhcr.org/en-us/media-centre.html

UNTERM: A multilingual terminology database maintained jointly by the main duty stations and regional commissions of the United Nations system.

https://unterm.un.org/UNTERM/portal/welcome

UN Web TV: The United Nations Live and On Demand

http://webtv.un.org/

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This JBS-owned database can be accessed on and off campus. (For remote access, create an account at https://accounts.socialexplorer.com/signup?context=socialexplorer&redirect=https://www.socialexplorer.com/ with your jburroughs.org email address.)
To search, scroll down the page and click Explore under any category. Then narrow search by location in the upper left search box. You can then click Change Data to view various demographics. Use the key in the lower right corner to determine numbers based on color.

St. Louis Post Dispatch--the password can be found on the Remote Access page.

St. Louis County Library has a number of business databases which provide demographic information at the municipality and zip code level. All students who reside in St. Louis City, St. Louis County and St. Charles County are entitled to a free St. Louis County Library card. You can sign up for a card here: https://webpac.slcl.org/selfreg. (If you live outside these areas, please contact Mrs. Grantham for access.)

To access the databases, visit the St. Louis County Library website at www.slcl.org, then click Research. Next click Resources A to Z to search for each database by title.

DemographicsNow for Libraries: First set the Geo filter at the top of the page (by city, zip code, etc.), then build your report in Demographics. Click on Advanced to select variables.
Mergent Intellect: Skip the main search bar and scroll down to Demographics. Set your location to obtain premade reports that can be emailed to you.
Reference Solutions (Home Access): Use Firefox to access. Scroll down to select U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles, then use the Advanced search to build reports on home value, income levels, etc.

Resources for Model United Nations: THIMUN

Resources for THIMUN

Using databases from off campus

NoodleTools

Republic of Georgia

Zimbabwe