Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use periodicals?
Once you have found all of the general information you need for your paper and have started to develop your thesis, you will need to find some periodical articles that will give you a more narrow examination of your topic. Because this is a research paper, you should focus on finding articles from academic journals. These articles are usually longer than a magazine article, very scholarly, and include footnotes. They are written by experts in the field or university professors. It is unlikely that you will find a general academic journal article. Most of them will have an extremely narrow focus on one aspect of your topic, but that is what makes them such a valuable resource to use for your paper.
To access these databases from home, use the passwords listed on this private Google Sites page.
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite contains full-text articles for more than 2,100 journals, Nearly 150 journals have PDF images dating back to 1985.
Jstor This link opens in a new window
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
A to Z Database List
Click here to see a list of all our available databases. You may filter the list by topic.
How to find a journal article
Noodle Tools is a bibliography tool that you may use for citing your sources. Choose the Google sign in on the right to access your account.
Chicago Style Manual
Chicago Style Guide
Need help with Chicago format? Check out this quick guide to Chicago-style citations!