Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library subscribes to several ebook collections. Use the links below or search the library catalog to find ebooks on your subject.
Humanities E-Book Project
This database provides access to thousands of university press books in the humanities. The books are to be read online, although you can print off small selections. Use the remote access passwords to search this database from home
Ebrary provides a lot of general interest books, but you might get lucky and find some good history titles as well. You must create a personal login while on campus in order to use this from home.
This is a large database of books from Oxford University Press. Some titles may not be available, so after you do a search,
A not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content.
E-Book Public Library Collection
Before searching this database, click on "choose databases" and add the high school e-book collection to get a more complete set of books.
Chicago Style Manual
Chicago Style Guide
Need help with Chicago format? Check out this quick guide to Chicago-style citations!
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.