Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to use a database
Databases can be a great place to find all sorts of resources for your research papers - books, reference book articles, magazine and newspaper articles, video, audio, statistics, and even recommended websites.
When you use a database you will probably need to narrow down your search to find materials that are relevant to your topic. Here are some limiting tips:
- limit by publication type or name (for example, look for articles from the New York Times)
- limit by date of publication. You are researching a current issue, so you probably don't want any materials that are more than 5-8 years old.
- add search terms - the more terms in your search the more focused your search will be. Leave out words like the, and, a, if, is, to, an and so. These terms will be omitted from your search anyway.
- If you want to look up a particular topic or person of more than one word, use quotes to make the database do a phrase search. "John F. Kennedy", "Civil Rights Movement"
When you find something to use in a database, download a copy and save it to a folder in your Google Drive to read later. Never print until you are SURE you need a physical print copy of the article. You may find that you can annotate, highlight and read the article just as well on line as in print. Also, most of our databases will let you export the bibliographic citation to EasyBib or NoodleTools. Be sure you have a tab open with your active project.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full content of many of the Gale's print publications about controversial issues, such as the Opposing Viewpoints series, Current Controversies, and more. It also includes articles from reference books, periodical articles and websites.
Using databases from off campus
You can use any of our databases from off campus if you have the correct user name and password for access. We may not post these publicly, so they reside on a Google Site page that requires your JBS email login for access.
Click HERE to see a clickable list of databases along with their user names and passwords.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in- depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press.
Science in Context
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context provides information on significant science topics and showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to climate change and genetically modified organisms. Topics span the fields of biology, chemistry, earth and
environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology.The collection includes millions of full-text articles from academic periodicals and news sources, as well as over 200 experiments and projects, over 20,000 images, reference sources, and audio and video content from organizations such as NASA and Khan Academy.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Includes data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources including government databases, scientific journals, consumer research institutes and much more
Explora- High School Version This link opens in a new window
This new interface from Ebsco is designed specifically for the general research needs of high school students to provide a variety of appropriate magazine and newspaper articles, chapters from books, and videos on a wide selection of topics.
Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This resource allows users to perform combined searches across multiple databases including Gale, Oxford and Jstor.
Noodle Tools is a bibliography tool that you may use for citing your sources. Choose the Google sign in on the right to access your account.